Urge the Conference Committee to Keep HB 154 Language in the State Budget Bill

No to State Takeovers

OEA is urging the HB 166 Conference Committee to adopt the House-passed Academic Distress Commission (ADC) language that was removed by the Senate. The HB 166 Conference Committee members are:

  • Sen. Matt Dolan (R-Chagrin Falls)
  • Sen. Dave Burke (R-Marysville)
  • Sen. Sean O’Brien (D-Cortland)
  • Rep. Scott Oelslager (R-North Canton)
  • Rep. Jim Butler (R-Dayton)
  • Rep. Jack Cera (D-Bellaire)

If your legislator is listed TAKE ACTION by adapting the sample letter provided.


The House-passed ADC language is the same as language in HB 154, a stand-alone bill that passed in the House by 83-12 earlier this year. The House-passed ADC language would repeal the disastrous state takeover law, restore local control to elected school boards, return teacher collective bargaining rights, and hold school districts accountable by requiring school improvement teams and plans in F-rated school buildings.

The current state takeover law (HB 70 – 131st General Assembly) provides no citizen oversight through elected school boards, no voice for classroom teachers, and has been bad for our kids. State government has already taken away local control from Youngstown, Lorain, and East Cleveland schools.

In the next two years, if current law is not changed, state government could take away local control from Dayton, Columbus, Canton, Mansfield, Lima, Toledo, Ashtabula, Euclid, North College Hill, and Painesville schools.

This is our last chance to advocate for the inclusion of the House-passed HB 154 ADC language in the state budget bill