Ohio Education Association Re-Elects President And Vice President

COLUMBUS – May 16, 2016 – Members of the Ohio Education Association, the state’s largest public employee union, have re-elected Becky Higgins to a second three-year term as President, and Scott DiMauro to a second three-year term as Vice President.  OEA represents 123,000 teachers, education support professionals and higher education faculty.

Higgins ran unopposed and was re-elected by acclamation at the OEA’s Representative Assembly (RA), the governing body of the organization, over the past weekend. Nearly 1,000 member delegates from OEA local affiliates throughout Ohio participated in the RA.Higgins will begin her new term on September 1, 2016. An active OEA member throughout her career, Higgins was a first-grade teacher for the Copley-Fairlawn Schools before being elected OEA’s president in 2013.

OEA Vice President Scott DiMauro also ran unopposed and was re-elected by acclamation. Prior to his election as vice-president, DiMauro was a social studies teacher at Worthington Kilbourne High School.


Follow OEA @OhioEA on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, and Pinterest.


The Ohio Education Association (ohea.org) represents 122,000 teachers, faculty members and support professionals in Ohio’s public schools, colleges and universities


2016 Press Releases